Complete Communications Engineering

The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) computer security standard is a symmetric block cipher that encrypts and decrypts 128-bit blocks of data. Standard key lengths of 128, 192, and 256 bits may be  used. VOCAL’s AES implementation is available as a standalone algorithm as well as AES IP Core in FPGA, PLD, or ASIC form factors. Contact us to discuss your specific encryption application requirements.

download brochure

AES Algorithm

The AES algorithm consists of four stages that make up a round which is iterated 10 times for a 128-bit length key, 12 times for a 192-bit key, and 14 times for a 256-bit key.

In most ciphers, the iterated transform (or round) usually has a Feistel Structure. Typically in this structure, some of the bits of the intermediate state are transposed unchanged to another position (permutation). AES does not have a Feistel structure but is composed of three distinct invertible transforms based on the Wide Trial Strategy design method.

Wide Trail Strategy

The Wide Trial Strategy design method provides resistance against linear and differential cryptanalysis such that, every layer has its own function:




More Information